National Qualifiers Katie Wilson, Zula Flanary, Zoe Hay

Campaign Manager Caden Jackson and State VP Cole Wilson

Curtis Cox, Alayna McCarville, Sydney Owens

Jacob Moellers, Milo Wong, Hans Miller

Garrett Ward, Matthew Berg, Karsten Bakken, Mitchell Schaaf

Danielle Blum, Lily Wong, Abi Callaway, Jordyn Abbott

Keira Schrank, Rita Wilson

Skylar Martin, Chloe Oberhauser


by Kip Bakken, FBLA Advisor

Mineral Point Future Business Leaders of America members, along with 2500 FBLA members from around the state, attended FBLA State Leadership Conference April 9 -10 in La Crosse at the La Crosse Center and Radisson Convention Center.

Keynote speaker Harriet Turk kicked off the event as she shared how we can “Elevate Our Future!”

In the opening ceremony, candidates for state office gave their campaign speeches. For the first time in our Mineral Point Chapter history, we had a member declare candidacy and run for a state officer position. Cole Wilson ran for the office of Wisconsin FBLA Vice President. After being introduced by campaign manager, Caden Jackson, in the opening session, Wilson gave a campaign speech in which he encouraged members to vote for him as he will take FBLA “a step in the right direction.” Following the voting delegate session on Tuesday morning, Cole was elected and installed as Wisconsin FBLA Vice President during the evening awards session.

The two day conference had workshops and tours for members to attend to increase their business knowledge, as well as compete in their business events.

Competing in individual testing events at State Leadership Conference were: Karsten Bakken, Hans Miller, Keira Schrank, Garrett Ward, Rita Wilson, and Lily Wong. Competing in presentation events were the teams of Chloe Oberhauser and Skylar Martin in Social Media Campaign and the team of Zula Flanary, Zoe Hay, and Katie Wilson in Emerging Business Issues.

Bakken placed 8th in Business Law. Flanary, Hay, and Wilson placed 3rd in Emerging Business Issues, qualifying them to advance to National Leadership Conference.

New this year to FBLA State Leadership Conference was the Legacy Academy specifically for members not competing in performance and testing events. We had eight Mineral Point members attend the Legacy Academy: Jordyn Abbott, Matthew Berg, Curtis Cox, Alayna McCarville, Jacob Moellers, Sydney Owens, Mitchell Schaaf, and Milo Wong.

In Legacy Academy, members interacted with business professionals and outstanding FBLA members from across the nation. Legacy members learned from professional motivational speaker Patty Hendrickson about Innovative Leadership. Tyler Thomas, FBLA National Officer from Ohio, shared his Personal Leadership Legacy. Members also toured local La Crosse businesses and networked with business leaders at a luncheon.

Abi Callaway represented Mineral Point as a Business Achievement Future, Business, and Leader Award Member and was awarded the Who’s Who in FBLA honor.

Danielle Blum represented Mineral Point as the author of our Mineral Point Chapter Annual Business Report.

Our Mineral Point Chapter also earned the Gold Seal Chapter of Merit Award upon meeting all of the requirements of the Gold Seal program.

While at the conference, attendees were able to make connections with business leaders while touring facilities like Kwik Trip Distribution Center, Altra Credit Union, WKBT La Crosse, EO Johnson, La Crosse Sign, LB White, Dahl Car Museum, Lock and Dam #7, La Crosse County Courthouse, and Dave’s Guitar Shop, as well as tour UW- La Crosse, Viterbo, and Western College.

Workshops were offered for members to attend when not on a business tour or competing in an event. Workshop choices included: “Just Get Up and Move” by Keynote Speaker Harriet Turk, “Preparing to Lead” by Army ROTC, and “My Personal Leadership Legacy” by National FBLA Officer Tyler Thomas.

In addition, members participated in a scavenger hunt using an app called Goose Chase where they could complete fun missions and compete against other schools for prizes. While at the conference, students were able to show their participation in events and earn badges by tracking their attendance at tours, workshops, and events.

Said MPHS Advisor Kip Bakken, “State Leadership Conference was a great learning experience for the Mineral Point FBLA members. Congratulations not only to Zoe, Zula, and Katie for qualifying for nationals, and to Cole for his successful campaign and installation as WI FBLA Vice President, but to all of our Mineral Point members that attended SLC. I couldn’t be more proud of the way in which all of our members represented Mineral Point and our chapter of FBLA. That’s why I love what I do!”

Now it is on to Institute for Leaders and National Leadership Conference in Baltimore, MD June 27th through July 1st for our newly elected state officer Cole Wilson and competitors Zula Flanary, Zoe Hay, and Katie Wilson.

Great job, everyone!