Mineral Point High School

Latest Posts | High School

Board to Consider Elementary New Building Referendum

The Board spent a great deal of time at its Monday, November 10 special meeting discussing and hearing support as well as concerns regarding the possibility of going back to referendum in April 2019 for a new elementary building. (Scroll past the video for more article text) Voters approved a renovation/addition to the existing elementary … Read More

2019 School Board Election Information

It’s time to be thinking of school board candidates. The election will be held Tuesday, April 2, 2019. The term of office for these school board members begins Monday, April 22, 2019. The top two vote recipients will serve three year terms, with the third place vote recipient serving a one year term. Incumbents whose … Read More

Faull, Palzkill are Students of the Month

The Mineral Point Kiwanis Club honored its December Students of the Month at its meeting Tuesday, December 4 at the Pointer Cafe. The students, who are members of the senior class, are selected for this honor through a voting process by staff at the high school, and their biographies are written by themselves. Maddie Faull … Read More

Football Team Honored for Fine Season

The Mineral Point Football team held its awards banquet Monday, November 26 in the cafeteria. The Pointers won back-to-back SWAL Conference Championships for the first time in program history. Receiving honors were: Team Awards Pointer Award: Kevin Eisenzimmer, Caden Carey, and Danny Pittz Most Improved Offensive Player: Justin Baehler Most Improved Defensive Player: Mason Hughes … Read More

Six Medal at UWP Math Contest

by Cindi Nothem, Math Teacher On November 7th, 28 of Mineral Point’s finest mathletes traveled to UW-Platteville for the 46th annual UW-Platteville High School Mathematics Contest.  At the contest, teams are broken down into four divisions based on school enrollment.  This year, in our division, there were 24 teams representing 13 different schools.  Team scores … Read More

Board Discusses Post-Referendum Steps

The Board spent much of its special meeting Friday, November 16 discussing next steps to begin construction on the elementary remodel/addition. (Scroll past the video for more article text) Board policy 672.1 states that any contracts over $100,000 must include sealed bids. FEH Design and Kraemer Brothers have already emailed Interim Superintendent Mitch Wainwright contracts … Read More

November Regular Board Meeting

Anthony Dahl was appointed by the School Board at its November regular meeting to fill the vacant School Board seat left by Kelly Gundlach. (Scroll past the video for more article text) Board policy directed how the vote was to take place. Board members used a signed ballot. A candidate would have needed four votes … Read More

MPHS 1st Quarter Honor Roll

Mineral Point High School is proud to announce its first quarter honor roll for the 2018-19 school year. HIGH HONORS Seniors: Michaela Acherman, Matthew Berg, Megan Berg, Caden Carey, Curtis Cox, Karissa Deutsch, Madisen Faull, Zoe Hay, Brady Palzkill, Daniel Pittz, McKenna Reichling, Abigayle Shannon. Juniors: Nicholas DuBois, Tessa Hanson, Isaac Lindsey, Cody Pierce, Hannah … Read More

Five Star Ranking Again on State Report Card

The Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction has released state report cards, based on 2017-18 school data. The Mineral Point Unified School District has scored an 87.1, which places it into the Significantly Exceeds Expectations category, a five star rating. This is the third year in a row the District has received the prestigious five star … Read More

Dahl Appointed to School Board

Anthony Dahl has just been appointed by the School Board at tonight’s meeting (Monday, November 12) to fill the vacant School Board seat left by Kelly Gundlach. To read his interest letter:              Board policy directed how the vote was to take place. Board members used a signed ballot. A … Read More

All High School News