The majority of the 2018 Mineral Point High School Forensics team had its Sub-District competition February 12 at Dodgeville, while a few entries competed February 19 at Platteville.

All of the entries advanced to the District festival to be held Saturday, March 24 at UW-Platteville.

Students needed to score a 16 (or better) out of 25 possible points in a minimum of two of the three rounds in order to advance.

Once again this year, Mineral Point has a nearly full roster with 22 out of a maximum 25 allowable entries.

The students advancing, along with their categories, include:

Farrago: Danielle Blum, Zoe Hay, Josie Lindholm.

Four Minute Speech: Amelia Mitchell, Will Straka, Sean Wahlin.

Group Interpretive Reading: Henry Dailey, Malorie Johnson, Grant Lee, Amanda Murphy, and Nolan Springer. Grady Gorgen, Gunnar Gorgen, Ian Keyes, Isaac Lindsey, and Liam Stumpf.

Moments in History: Haakon Schriefer.

Play Acting: Kaitlyn Kinch and Peyton Ross. Mara Aschliman, Kyla Lindsey, Dana Schmitz, and Katie Wilson.

Poetry: Emily Cody, Zula Flanary.

Prose Reading: Michaela Acherman, Alexis Berget, Jenna Wedig.

Radio Speaking: Caden Jackson.

Solo Acting: Madison Bowers, Daniel Nordstrom, Sage Shemak.

Special Occasion Speech: Cole Wilson.

Storytelling: Rita Wilson.

The team is coached by Kristin Staver, Kris McCoy, and Brittany Roscovius.

The Wisconsin High School Forensic Association (WHSFA) was founded in 1895, making it the oldest secondary school speech or debate organization in the country. The WHSFA works to fulfill its mission to provide an opportunity for students to enhance communication skills through participation in Theatre, Debate and Speech activities. About 10,000 students participate annually in WHSFA sponsored events.