The Mineral Point Unified School District was honored by the Wisconsin School Public Relations Association (WSPRA) with two awards for its work in school communications between July 1, 2020 and June 30, 2021.

#PointerNation has now earned 18 WSPRA Awards since the fall of 2015.

WSPRA showcased the Spectrum Awards at its annual fall conference November 4 in Sheboygan. Over 40 districts were honored with awards. 

This year’s conference theme was “Nothin’ But a Good Time: A Conference for School PR Rockstars.”

Spectrum Awards honor high-quality public relations efforts produced by, or on behalf of, Wisconsin school districts. 

Mineral Point earned two Spectrum Awards which were accepted by Communications Director, and WSPRA President-Elect, Joelle Doye:

Award of Excellence 

Award of Merit

“The work submitted by the Spectrum Award winners is a testament to the importance of school communications and community engagement,” said WSPRA President Tracy Habisch-Ahlin of the Hudson School District. “Projects submitted were a result of work completed during the 2020-21 school year, which was challenging due to COVID.  The award winners demonstrated the critical role communication professionals play in education.”

WSPRA’s Spectrum Awards were judged by members of other school public relations associations in 15 different states, from New York to California. All entries were judged on a 30-point scale in six areas: goals and objectives, research and planning, execution and evaluation, results, language, and design. 

WSPRA was chartered in 1967 and is a state affiliate of the National School Public Relations Association (NSPRA). The mission of WSPRA is to expand the capacity of its members to provide effective communication management for the purpose of strengthening educational opportunities for all students.

Pictured is the 2020-22 WSPRA Executive Team, left to right: Emily DeBaker, Oak Creek-Franklin Joint School District (Vice President), Joelle Doye, Mineral Point Unified School District (President-Elect), Tracy Habisch-Ahlin, Hudson School District (President), and Christina Brey, WEAC (Past President). Doye will assume the WSPRA Presidency July 1, 2022 and will hold the position until June 30, 2024.