The Wisconsin School Public Relations Association has named Joelle Doye, Mineral Point Unified School District Communications Director, as its next Vice President.

This is a five year leadership commitment–she will serve two years as Vice President, one year as President-Elect, and two years as President.

She has been a WSPRA Board member since Spring 2017 and the #PointerNation Communications Director since Fall 2014.

New WSPRA Board members for the 2018-19 school year include:

  • Treasurer Jim Strick, Communications Manager, Neenah Joint School District (replacing Mike Heine, former School-Community Relations Coordinator for the Delavan-Darien School District)
  • Director Jerry Schuetz, Director of Administrative Operations, School District of Milton (replacing Doye who is now Vice President)
  • WASB Representative Cheryl Ploeckelman, School Board Member, Colby School District (replacing Terry Falk, Milwaukee Public Schools)
  • WASDA Representative Dr. Lori Mueller, Superintendent, School District of Baraboo (replacing Dr. Brian Hanes, retired Superintendent for the Ashwaubenon School District)

Returning WSPRA Board members are:

  • President Christina Brey, Media Relations Officer, Wisconsin Education Association Council
  • Past President Sarah Heck, Director of Marketing, Communications and Resource Development, Cooperative Educational Service Agency #2 Whitewater
  • President-Elect Tracy Habisch-Ahlin, Communications and Community Services Coordinator, Hudson School District
  • Director Debbie Brewster, Coordinator of School and Community Relations, DeForest Area School District
  • Director Kevin Hickman, C.D. Smith Construction
  • Director Dr. Dennis Pauli, Superintendent, Edgerton School District
  • Director Stacy Tapp, APR, Chief of Communication and Community Engagement, Racine Unified School District
  • Business Liaison Kit Dailey, Public Outreach Specialist, Eppstein Uhen Architects
  • Marketing/Graphic Liaison Becky Backhaus, Creative Director, J.P. Cullen
  • Marketing/PR Liaison Emily Neubauer, Marketing and Communications Specialist, Racine Unified School District
  • AWSA Representative Timothy Brown, Middle/High School Principal, Kohler School District

“WSPRA has been fortunate to have many strong leaders over its 50 plus years, and I look forward to what the future has in store for our organization,” said Doye. “Recognizing school communication is changing seemingly by the day, it is important we keep our organization robust and moving forward. Even though there has been a steady increase of Wisconsin schools hiring professional communicators, the majority of school districts in our state do not employ a person whose main job is public relations. Therefore, our organization must continue to reach out and empower all school personnel to be good communicators–our students, staff, families, and communities deserve it.”

The Wisconsin School Public Relations Association (WSPRA) is a professional association representing schools, school districts, educational associations, consulting agencies and organizations. WSPRA is a state affiliate of the National School Public Relations Association.

WSPRA was chartered in August 1967.