The selection committee for the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Scholarship, Fellowship, and Leadership Program announced Wednesday, March 15 the recipients of the 2017 Herb Kohl Foundation awards for students, teachers, and principals. Awards in the amount of $3,000 are being made to 100 teachers, 16 principals, and their schools, and $5,000 scholarships will be given to 207 graduating high school students.

The Mineral Point Unified School District is proud to report that Matt Nevers, 5th-12th grade instrumental music teacher, has been named a winner of the Teacher Fellowship.  Fellowship recipients are educators who have been chosen for their superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others, and their leadership and service within and outside the classroom.

Excellence Scholarship, Fellowship and Leadership Award recipients are selected by a statewide committee composed of civic leaders, representatives of education-related associations, and the program’s co-sponsors: the Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools (WCRIS), regional Cooperative Educational Service Agencies (CESA), and the Association of Wisconsin School Administrators.

The Kohl Foundation Scholarship and Fellowship program was established by Herb Kohl, philanthropist and businessman, in 1990. To date the foundation has awarded $11.5 million to Wisconsin educators, principals, students, and schools.

“Education is the key to the future of Wisconsin and our nation. I am very proud of the accomplishments of these students, teachers, and principals and look forward to the great contributions they will make in the future,” Kohl said.

“I am elated for Mr. Nevers upon his honor for being named a recipient of the Kohl Teaching Fellowship,” said Mineral Point Superintendent Luke Francois. “The Kohl Fellowship is recognized as a prestigious award bestowed upon few teachers across the state of Wisconsin. The entire Pointer Family congratulates Matt on his Kohl Fellowship recognition.”

Nevers will receive his award at a ceremony at Middleton High School Saturday, April 29. He is only the second teacher from Mineral Point to be honored. Retired art teacher, Bonnie Laverty, also received the honor in 1997.