The Mineral Point Unified School District is proud to announce instrumental music teacher Matt Nevers’ Herb Kohl Fellowship application has advanced out of CESA #3 and has been forwarded to the state level for consideration.

The purpose of the Kohl Teacher Fellowship program is to recognize and support teaching excellence and innovation. The Herb Kohl Foundation’s goal is to support teachers in pursuit of their unrealized goals for their classrooms or professional development. Fellowship recipients are chosen for their superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others, and for their leadership and service within and outside the classroom.

For each CESA, a maximum of only five teacher and five student applications can be forwarded on for state consideration by the Department of Public Instruction.

Nevers will have his application read by the state selection committee at the end of January. The announcement of the winners will likely be made public in March. Each Kohl Fellowship recipient will receive a $3,000 grant and each recipient’s school will receive a matching $3,000 grant.

Final selection is made by a statewide committee composed of civic leaders, representatives from the Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools, Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation, Cooperative Educational Service Agencies, Wisconsin Parents Association, and several other education-related associations.

“Being nominated for a Kohl Fellowship is a great honor,” said Mineral Point Superintendent Luke Francois. “I consider it one of the most prestigious recognitions available to teachers in the state of Wisconsin because nominees are nominated by parents and colleagues. It is simply a recognition of the great work that many teachers do, but often without notice.”

The Kohl Foundation Scholarship and Fellowship program was established by Herb Kohl, U.S. Senator (Retired) in 1990.

“Education is the key to the future of Wisconsin and our nation. I am very proud of the accomplishments of these students, teachers, and principals and look forward to the great contributions they will make in the future,” Kohl said.

As of August 2016, the foundation has awarded a total of approximately $11.95 million to Wisconsin educators, students, and schools.

Past Mineral Point recipients of the Herb Kohl awards at the state level include:

Student Excellence: Marsha Bingham, 1991; Christopher Marr, 2004.

Student Initiative: Sarah Janke, 2002; Cory Sokol, 2005; Sierra Gunderson, 2011.

Teacher Fellowship: Bonnie Laverty, 1997.