SWAL Honors Band

  A big congratulations goes out to our middle and high school band students who were selected for the SWAL Conference Honors Band. The concert is set for Saturday, January 7 at 4:30 pm at Darlington. The public is welcome.

Kohl Fellowship Application Advances to State Level

The Mineral Point Unified School District is proud to announce instrumental music teacher Matt Nevers’ Herb Kohl Fellowship application has advanced out of CESA #3 and has been forwarded to the state level for consideration. The purpose of the Kohl Teacher Fellowship program is to recognize and support teaching excellence and innovation. The Herb Kohl … Read More

Musicians Receive Awards

Mineral Point High School held its Music Awards Night Sunday, May 8 at the Opera House. Awards were presented as follows: Band Most Enthusiastic: Michaela Acherman, freshman; Haakon Schriefer, sophomore; Caleb Kennedy, junior; Logan Bidlingmaier, senior. Band Most Improved: Megan Berg, freshman; Brianna Wedig, sophomore; Ethan Dickler, junior; Sarah Knapp, senior. Band Most Outstanding: Brady … Read More

Musicians bring home gold

Mineral Point High School musicians participated in the Wisconsin School Music Association State Solo/Ensemble Festival Saturday, April 30 at UW-Platteville. Medals were earned as follows: Gold (First Rating) and Nominated for Exemplary Soloist Award:  David Kelm, baritone vocal solo. Gold (First Rating): Alayna McCarville, Tori Palzkill, Michaela Acherman, Sarah Knapp, Danielle Blum, Justice Hendrick, Abi … Read More

Nevers Nominated for WAMI Award

Mineral Point 5th and 9th-12th grade band teacher, Matt Nevers, has been nominated for a Wisconsin Area Music Industry (WAMI) Teacher of the Year Award. The 36th annual awards show will be held April 17 at the Fox Cities Performing Arts Center in Appleton. Finalists for the People’s Choice Awards have been announced. These awards … Read More

High school musicians qualify for state

High school musicians participated in District Solo/Ensemble Tuesday, March 15 at Mineral Point. Congrats to all of our musicians! Those advancing to State will perform at UW-Platteville Saturday, April 30. Class A Starred First (advances to State): Caleb Mitchell and Kaylee Sparks, bassoon and sax duet; Cole Howard, Haakon Schriefer, and Brady Palzkill, trombone trio; … Read More

MP to host Solo/Ensemble Festival

Students from area schools will participate in a Wisconsin School Music Association (WSMA) sanctioned District Solo & Ensemble Music Festival hosted at Mineral Point Saturday, March 12. During the festival, which is free and open to the public, students will perform vocal and instrumental solos, duets, trios and small ensembles before an adjudicator. WSMA music … Read More

Tri-State Honors Band

Members of the Mineral Point High School Band have been selected to participate in the UW-Platteville Tri-State Honors Band Saturday, February 13. From left to right: Alexa Sparks, Haakon Schriefer, David Kelm, Kaylee Sparks, and Caleb Mitchell.

Walker House teams up with MPHS Choir

Nine students sold $1806 of Walker House Foods and Snacks for the recent MPHS Choir Fundraiser.  The Walker House was so impressed with the energy and bookkeeping of the students that Dan and Kathy Vaillancourt (Walker House owners) donated $180.60 to the Fundraiser to raise the contribution level from 40% to 50%.  This means that … Read More

NBA All-State Band

These fine instrumentalists participated in the Wisconsin Chapter of the National Band Association’s All-State Band at Appleton Saturday, January 23. Left to right: Caleb Mitchell, Alexa Sparks, and Kaylee Sparks.