It’s that time of year again–please consider nominating Mineral Point educators for the following Herb Kohl Awards. They are some of the most prestigious honors that can be earned in the state.

Mineral Point has had a winner six of the last seven years, which is incredible — it all starts with a nomination! The deadline for nomination is Tuesday, October 3, 2023 at 5 pm.

Teacher form:

Principal form:

Nominations of Wisconsin PK through 12th grade teachers and principals can now be submitted for the 2024 Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Teacher Fellowship and Principal Leadership awards.

Awards are $6,000.00, with an additional $6,000.00 grant awarded to the school of each selected teacher and principal.

The Herb Kohl Educational Foundation awards 100 Fellowships and 16 Leadership awards annually from among all applicants throughout the state.

For teachers or principals to be considered for an award, they must be nominated by a parent, student, other teacher, community member or school administrator. Wisconsin teachers and principals in grades PK through 12 who plan to continue in their current capacity for at least one year are eligible to be nominated.

“The Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Fellowship recognizes teachers who have demonstrated superior ability to inspire love of learning in their students, have motivated others and have provided meritorious service both in and outside the classroom,” release from the Wisconsin Department of Instruction (DPI) on behalf the Foundation said. “The program also recognizes and supports principals who demonstrate administrative leadership and who positively influence school culture.”

Selection of recipients will be made by a state-level panel composed of representatives from the Wisconsin Newspaper Association (WNA), cooperative educational service agencies, several education-related associations and community representatives.

Since the program was established in 1990, the Herb Kohl Foundation has awarded 3,547 grants to teachers and principals, and 3,547 matching grants to their schools throughout the state for a total of $17.36 million.

The Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Fellowship and Leadership programs are co-sponsored by the WNA Foundation, DPI and the state’s 12 cooperative educational service agencies.

Mineral Point’s prior Herb Kohl educator winners include:

  • Teacher Fellowship Award: Bonnie Laverty 1997; Matt Nevers 2017; Kris McCoy 2018; Micki Uppena 2020; Cindi Nothem 2022; Ashley Calderon-McHugh 2023.
  • Principal Leadership Award: Matt Renwick 2021.