by Cindi Nothem, Math Teacher

On November 7th, 28 of Mineral Point’s finest mathletes traveled to UW-Platteville for the 46th annual UW-Platteville High School Mathematics Contest.  At the contest, teams are broken down into four divisions based on school enrollment.  This year, in our division, there were 24 teams representing 13 different schools.  Team scores are formed from the total of individual scores for the five highest scoring on each team in both the freshman/sophomore and junior/senior levels, as well as the team test for each of these levels.  This year, our team consisting of Bo Hanson, Drew Hottenstein, Ella Chambers, Carson Thomas, Alexis Berget, William Straka, Rita Wilson, Owen Stephenson, Cody Pierce, Hannah Ryser, Bodhi Logueflower, Brady Palzkill, Abigayle Shannon, and Mitchell Schaaf placed third in our division.

Our second competing team, due to a very unfortunate mix-up in the testing room, was not able to compete for a team award.  Students participating on this team included Jazmine Cool, Emma Steffes, Callie Pierce, Skylar Martin, Chloe Oberhauser, Gabe Sporle, Brayden Dailey, Lily Wong, Nicholas DuBois, Morgan Vondra, Benjamin Basting, Josie Lindholm, Karsten Bakken, and Madisen Faull.
In addition to competing as a team, students are also able to earn individual honors for their scores on the individual test.  This year, we had six students earn this honor, the most of any school in our division.  Congratulations to Jazmine Cool, Skylar Martin, Callie Pierce, Emma Steffes, Drew Hottenstein, William Straka, and Bo Hanson for your outstanding individual scores.
The Math Team will once again compete in the Mathematical Association of America High School Math contest on December 6 and Mineral Point will host this year’s SWAL Math Contest in March.  Thank you to all participants and best of luck in the upcoming competitions.