2017 Forensics Seniors

The 2017 Mineral Point High School Forensics team had its Sub-District competition Monday night at Argyle and all of the entries advanced to the District festivals to be held Wednesday, March 22 at Lancaster and Saturday, March 25 at UW-Platteville.

Students needed to score a 16 (or better) out of 25 possible points in a minimum of two of the three rounds in order to advance.

Mineral Point has a nearly full roster with 24 out of a maximum 25 allowable entries.

The students advancing, along with their categories, include:

Demonstration: Addy Chambers (with assistant Jaycie Runde).

Farrago: Morgan Fitzsimmons, Zoe Hay, and Josie Lindholm.

Four Minute Speech: Amelia Mitchell and Jalissa Weier.

Group Interpretive Reading: Justin Baehler, Wes Berget, Grady Gorgen, Isaac Lindsey, and Jack Warrick. Addison Dailey, Jaynie Gorgen, Destinee Kruser, Grant Rose, and Sydney Staver.

Moments in History: Fulton Flanary, Haakon Schriefer, and Chad Yeager.

Play Acting: Mara Aschliman, Kyla Lindsey, Dana Schmitz, and Katie Wilson. Kaitlyn Kinch and Peyton Ross.

Poetry: Zula Flanary, Valya MacGilvra, and Rebekah Ottoway.

Prose: Michaela Acherman, Haley Chubb, McKenna Reichling, and Jenna Wedig.

Radio Speaking: Caden Jackson.

Solo Acting Humorous: Madison Bowers.

Special Occasion Speech: Cole Wilson.

Storytelling: Danielle Blum.

The team is coached by Kristin Staver, Kris McCoy, and Joelle Doye.

The Wisconsin High School Forensic Association (WHSFA) was founded in 1895, making it the oldest secondary school speech or debate organization in the country. The WHSFA works to fulfill its mission to provide an opportunity for students to enhance communication skills through participation in Theatre, Debate and Speech activities. About 10,000 students participate annually in WHSFA sponsored events.