The Mineral Point Unified School District is proud to announce that School Psychologist, Katelyn Oellerich, Ed.S., has been named the 2022 School Psychologist of the Year by the Wisconsin School Psychologists Association (WSPA)!

Mrs. Oellerich received this honor at a luncheon Thursday, March 3 at the organization’s Spring Conference at the Wintergreen Resort in Wisconsin Dells.

She has served #PointerNation since August of 2018. During this time she has:

  • Implemented the first Mental Health Matters Week school wide, and within Iowa County, in May of 2021.
  • Supported and led the school’s first Social-Emotional Learning Team by facilitating and implementing monthly themes that focus on specific social emotional learning skills.
  • Supported individual and small group meetings with students related to anxiety, attention, social skills, confidence, and emotion regulation.
  • Supported families by seeking appropriate community supports and bridging gaps to help with family financial needs, food, clothing, mental health, physical health, and child care.

Additionally, she is the district’s Families and Schools Together (FAST) Coordinator, a writer for MiddleWEB, a co-chair for the Iowa County Mental Health Team, and a committee team member for Southwest Behavioral Health Sustainability.

Mrs. Oellerich received her Education Specialist in School Psychology (NASP Accredited) from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater in 2015, her Master of Science in Education-School Psychology from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater in 2013, and Bachelor of Arts in Psychology from University of Wisconsin-Whitewater in 2009. Prior to her employment in Mineral Point, she also served as a School Psychologist in the Darlington Community School District, as well as the Madison Metropolitan School District.

“Katelyn is an important leader in the District and serves every student with an emphasis on their learning first and foremost,” said Superintendent Mitch Wainwright. “I can say without hesitation, she makes every student feel cared for and supported as they learn. She challenges students to grow, no matter where they are in their educational journey.”

“Her work ethic, professionalism, and desire to support all students and families has earned her the respect of students, staff, and community members,” added Pupil Services Director Angela Klein.

Mrs. Oellerich will now be Wisconsin’s nominee for the National School Psychologist of the Year.

The Wisconsin School Psychologists Association facilitates and supports effective practices in Wisconsin schools that allow school psychologists to deliver the highest quality mental health and educational services to best meet the needs of all our students.