It’s time to be thinking of school board candidates.

The election will be held Tuesday, April 7, 2020. The term of office for these school board members begins Monday, April 27, 2020. The top two vote recipients will serve three year terms, with the third place vote recipient serving a two year term.

Incumbents whose seats are up for re-election include Jeff Basting, Tony Dahl, and Gary Sullivan. If these incumbents do not wish to run, they need to file non-candidacy no later than 5:00 pm Friday, December 27 in the District Office.

For all interested candidates (including incumbents), a Campaign Finance Registration Statement and a Declaration of Candidacy must be filed no later than 5:00 pm Tuesday, January 7, 2020 in the District Office located at 705 Ross Street.

If a primary is necessary, that will be held Tuesday, February 18, 2020. (A primary would be necessary only if there were seven or more candidates seeking the three available seats.)

Superintendent Mitch Wainwright will hold a Prospective Candidate Info Night Wednesday, December 11 at 6 pm in the Board Room for those individuals interested in more information about the roles and responsibilities of a school board member. If you are unable to attend, but would like to learn more, please reach out to him at 987-0740 or The 2020 Guide for Candidates from the Wisconsin Association of School Boards is available.

A description of the school district boundaries can be obtained from the District Office. If you have any questions on the process, please call District Administrative Assistant Angela Schubert at 987-0740.