Mineral Point Middle School musicians competed at the Wisconsin School Music Association’s District Solo & Ensemble Festival at Cuba City Saturday, March 10.

The following received a Starred First rating in Class A and have advanced to the State competition at UW-Platteville in April.

Callie Pierce, Music Theater-Soprano/Alto Solo; Callie Pierce, Soprano Solo

Other results include:


Class A

First: Ella Fox, Soprano Solo; Callie Pierce and Ella Fox, Vocal Duet

Second: Ella Fox, Music Theater-Soprano/Alto Solo


Class B

First: William Jewell, Tenor Solo; Brock Ellingson, Soprano Solo; Grace Engels, Soprano Solo; Ellie Janetka, Soprano Solo; Ellie Webb, Tuba Solo; Abel Logueflower, Trumpet Solo; Callie Pierce, Trumpet Solo; Ellie Janetka, Trumpet Solo; Tyler Nordstrom, Trumpet Solo; William Jewell, Trumpet Solo; Libby Dunn, Flute Solo; Ashlie Baumgartner, Alto Saxophone Solo

Second: Abel Logueflower, Tyler Nordstrom, and William Jewell, Trumpet Trio

Critique Only: Libby Dunn, Abby Webb, Gracie Foster, and Abigail Backes, Flute Quartet; Libby Dunn and Abby Webb, Flute Duet


Class C

First: Kelsie Wilson, Soprano Solo; Regan Schuette, French Horn Solo; Ella Fox, Euphonium Solo; Abby Webb, Flute Solo; Ella James, Bassoon Solo; Laurianna Dannenberg, Flute Solo

Second: Oliver Benson, Baritone Saxophone Solo

Critique Only: Malea Aschliman, James Webb, Charlie DaVee, and Ellie Webb, Brass Quartet; Malea Aschliman, Trumpet Solo; Regan Schuette and James Webb, French Horn Duet; Charlie DaVee and Shaine Bennett, Trombone Duet Euphonium; Libby Dunn, Abby Webb, Morgan Palzkill, Sophia Stephenson, and Gena Byrnes, Woodwind Quintet