It’s time to be thinking of school board candidates.

The election will be held Tuesday, April 3, 2018. The term of office for these school board members is three years beginning Monday, April 23, 2018.

Incumbents whose seats are up for re-election include Larry Dolphin, Lisa Hay, and Julie Stephenson. All three of these incumbents have filed non-candidacy on December 11 and will not seek another term.

For all interested candidates (including incumbents), a Campaign Registration Statement 2017-18 and a Declaration of Candidacy 2017-18 must be filed no later than 5:00 pm on Tuesday, January 2, 2018 in the District Office located at 705 Ross Street.

If a primary is necessary, that will be held Tuesday, February 20, 2018. (A primary would be necessary only if there were seven or more candidates seeking the three available seats.)

Superintendent Luke Francois will be holding a Prospective Candidate Info Night Monday, December 18 at 7 pm in the elementary library (611 Cothern St.) for those individuals interested in more information about the roles and responsibilities of a school board member.

A description of the school district boundaries can be obtained from the District Office.

If you have any questions on the process, please call District Administrative Assistant Angela Schubert at 987-0740.