McCoy, pictured 5th from the right in back row, shown with other WEMTA Board members at their recent conference.

The Wisconsin Educational Media and Technology Association has named Kris McCoy, Mineral Point Middle/High School Instructional Technology and Information Specialist, to its Board of Directors.

Other WEMTA Board of Directors members include:

  • Kimberly Bannigan, DeForest
  • Peg Billing, Tomahawk
  • Tina Birkett, Cuba City
  • Heidi Catlin, Rhinelander
  • Sue Conner, Portage
  • Renee Deschard, Monona
  • Michele Green, New London
  • Deb Hayden, Bloomer
  • Maegan Heindel, Madison
  • Nathan Mielke, Hartford
  • Laurie Olhoff, Edgar
  • Amy Pugh, Pewaukee
  • Kristi Shaw-Reitz, Marian University
  • Laura Tooke, Rhinelander
  • Micki Uppena, Lancaster
  • Janet Vraney, Green Bay
  • Jennifer Zurawski, West DePere

“What did you learn today? That’s my motto as a librarian, media specialist, instructional technology and information services specialist, reading teacher, interventionist, and makerspace guru wannabe,” said McCoy. “I wear many hats in the Mineral Point Middle and High School. Every day brings a new challenge, and the best part of it all is working with students and teachers to integrate technology, find resources, talk books, and learn something new.”

“I am excited to serve on the WEMTA Board so I can represent small, rural schools that are trying to do big things to prepare their students for their futures in an ever changing world.  I strongly believe in the power of collaboration to integrate 21st century skills in teaching and learning and feel that WEMTA is a leader in making this happen in Wisconsin schools,” she added.

The purpose of WEMTA is to empower educators to provide learning experiences that prepare students to flourish in an information-rich world.

The organization now know as WEMTA (formerly known as WDAVI, WAVA, and WEMA) began its life in 1948.