The Herb Kohl Educational Foundation is celebrating its 26th year of providing fellowships for 100 teachers and matching grants to the schools of those teachers. Teacher fellows receive $3,000, with an additional $3,000 grant going to the school of each Kohl fellow. This program is an opportunity to recognize excellence in education, and the Mineral Point School District is encouraged to participate.

To be eligible to compete for a fellowship, teachers must be nominated by parents, teachers, students, community members, or administrators. Nomination forms are available and can be submitted online at

Forms must be submitted to the Department of Public Instruction on or before Friday, September 25. Nominated teachers will then be sent an application form.

The Herb Kohl Educational Foundation is to be commended for its continued commitment to education and willingness to fund this program. Co-sponsors of the program are the state’s 12 cooperative educational service agencies (CESAs), the Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools, the Wisconsin Newspaper Association, and the Department of Public Instruction.