Thursday’s football banquet featured a “team first” mentality as coaches Andy Palzkill, Justin Leonard, Chad Whitford, David Hamlin, Chris Mitchell, Andy Busch, Michael Walsh, and TJ Burke introduced the players that took Mineral Point to its first WIAA post-season playoff berth since the 2010 season.

Team awards went to: Steven Blume, Most Improved Offensive Player; Jacob Parks, Most Improved Defensive Player; Nate Cody, Most Valuable Player-Defensive Lineman; Joey Gorgen, Most Valuable Player-Defensive Back; Turner Poad, Most Valuable Player-Offensive Back; Dylan MacGilvra, Most Valuable Player-Offensive Lineman; Ross Siegenthaler, Most Valuable Player-Defense; and Scott Pittz-Most Valuable Player-Offense.

SWAL All-Conference recognition was also plentiful for the Pointers. First team offense nods went to Scott Pittz, quarterback; Sy Staver, wide receiver; Tarek Oellerich, wide receiver; and Dylan MacGilvra, offensive line. First team defense was Joey Gorgen, defensive back. First team specialist was Sy Staver, returner.

Second team offense nominations were earned by Turner Poad, running back and Nate Cody, offensive line. Second team defense was Ross Siegenthaler, linebacker; Tarek Oellerich, defensive back; and Sy Staver, defensive back. 

Steven Blume earned Honorable Mention accolades.

Andy Palzkill was named the SWAL Head Coach of the Year with Justin Leonard being the Assistant Coach of the Year.

Scott Pittz earned the prestigious title of Offensive Player of the Year in the SWAL.

Managers Curtis Cox, Gabe Sporle, Will Straka, and Jimmy Tibbits were thanked for all of their hard work during the season.

Cheerleaders, with advisor Kristin Staver, were also recognized.

All guests enjoyed cake and ice cream provided by the Gridiron Club.

(Photos and article by Joelle Doye)